Quebec.—The Provincial Government, by legislation passed in 1946, authorized the establishment of a Department of Social Welfare and Youth. Since then, the Ministry of Health, which in reality has existed since 1936, deals only with matters relating to health, preventive medicine and public charities. From 1936 to 1941 provincial health matters were under the Department of Health which, in the former year, replaced the Health Service that operated under the Provincial Secretary. Since 1926 the system known as "County Health Units" has been in operation. The purpose of this system is to provide a regular full-time service for each county or group of two or three adjoining counties that are included in the scheme. There are now 62 units of this kind, covering 73 counties. The Health Officers of the old districts, whose number is now reduced to 7, supervise the few counties not organized into sanitary units. Many municipalities, such as Montreal, Sherbrooke, Westmount and Quebec, have their own Health Bureaus.

The Department of Health maintains, in addition to its administrative service, the following divisions: Laboratories, Sanitary Engineering, Demography, Mental Health, Public Charities, Health Districts and Units, Epidemiology, Industrial Health, Nutrition (including Maternal Hygiene and Child Welfare), Venereal Diseases, Tuberculosis, Health Education, Dental Health Education, Publicity, etc.

Service is rendered in the form of consultations, public lectures, school inspections, itinerant clinics of pediatry and tuberculosis, inquiries of all kinds, immunizations, sanitation improvement, etc. Twenty-seven anti-tuberculosis dispensaries have been established and 70 clinics of pediatry, including those sponsored by the Provincial Government.

An Act was introduced at the 1946 Session of the Quebec Legislature designed to combat the spread of tuberculosis in the Province. This Act authorized the Minister of Health to organize facilities for the detection of cases of tuberculosis and contribute to the construction and maintenance of sanatoria for consumptives and the training of specialists in the treatment of the disease as well as to carry on educational campaigns in the fight against tuberculosis. An Advisory Board was also set up to ensure the practical and efficient carrying out of the legislation.

Ontario.—The Department of Health is organized under a Minister, a Deputy Minister and an Assistant Deputy Minister. The activities of the Department include, in addition to the usual public-health functions, the operation and maintenance of Provincial Mental Hospitals.

The public-health services of the Province are organized under the following branches: the Assistant Chief Medical Officer is responsible for the co-ordination of the work of Municipal Boards of Health; the Public Health Administration Branch; Public Health Nursing; Maternal and Child Hygiene; Dental Services; and Epidemiology, concerned primarily with the control of acute communicable diseases. Separate branches are organized to deal with each of the following special health services: Venereal Disease Prevention; Tuberculosis Prevention; Industrial Hygiene; Laboratory Services; and Sanitary Engineering. Branches concerned with the supervision of certain aspects of medical treatment centres throughout the Province include: Public and Private General Hospitals; and Nurse Registration. Particular emphasis has been given in recent years to the development of a more effective form of local public-health administration through the development of County Health Units with full-time well-qualified staffs.